Wednesday, January 24, 2024

SHADE GROWN by Heather Day Gilbert, Reviewed by Rebecca Maney

Barks and Beans Cafe #8

"Mayor Boaz Hatfield would have his hands full in days to come."

And apparently, so would his sister Macy. A high profile Hollywood star lying dead among the hostas . . . in the middle of a commemorative shade garden, during a home and garden tour? That certainly wasn't an everyday occurrence in Lewisburg, West Virginia, now was it? Having happened upon the bizarre scene herself, Macy was determined to help the victim's sister dig down a little deeper, so to speak, to uncover who may have wanted Cody Franklin dead.

With striking ingenuity and an over abundance of curiosity, Macy narrows down her search for answers only to experience multiple dead-ends amidst a growing number of suspects, to the point of fearing for her own safety. In the end, it all comes down to the benefit of having nosy neighbors!

Easy to read, fun to read . . . and I am already looking forward to the next read in this delightful cozy mystery series! 
*I purchased the book and was under no obligation to provide a positive review.
BackCover Blurb:
BOOK EIGHT in the Award-winning
BARKS & BEANS CAFE cozy mystery series!!

Welcome to the Barks & Beans Cafe, a quaint place where folks pet shelter dogs while enjoying a cup of java...and where murder sometimes pays a visit.

During Lewisburg's popular summer home and garden tour, Macy and her brother Bo discover new aspects of their hometown's history. One of the last homes they visit features a lush commemorative shade garden marking where a Civil War soldier's bones were buried. As Macy pauses to admire a bed of blue hostas, she glimpses a shadowy shape lying beneath the dinner-plate leaves. It turns out to be the body of famed movie star Cody Franklin, who'd purchased the garden house as a quiet country retreat.

Back at the cafe, Macy speaks with Cody's distraught sister, who lets slip that she's afraid her brother's killer will target her next. Macy's heart goes out to the bereaved sibling, and she agrees to speak with Cody's local acquaintances in hopes she'll uncover some helpful backstory.

But someone powerful is lurking behind the scenes, and Macy has to zoom in on the killer before everything fades to black.

Join siblings Macy and Bo Hatfield as they sniff out crimes in their hometown...with plenty of dogs along for the ride! The Barks & Beans Cafe cozy mystery series features a small town, an amateur sleuth, and no swearing or graphic scenes.

The Barks & Beans Cafe series in order:
Book 1: No Filter
Book 2: Iced Over
Book 3: Fair Trade
Book 4: Spilled Milk
Book 5: Trouble Brewing
Book 6: Cold Drip
Book 7: Roast Date
Book 8: Shade Grown
Standalone Novella: House Blend 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Share This Post

How Our Giveaways Work: The Official Rules

We, the ladies of Inkwell Inspirations, would love to give free stuff to everybody. Since we can't, we will often have a giveaway in conjunction with a specific post. Unless otherwise stated, one winner will be drawn from comments left on that post between the date it was published and the end of the giveaway as determined in the post. Entries must be accompanied by a valid email address. This address is used only to contact the commenter in the event that he/she is the winner, and will not be sold, distributed, or used in any other fashion. The odds of winning depend on the number of entrants. NO PURCHASE, PLEDGE, OR DONATION NECESSARY TO ENTER OR TO WIN. ALL FEDERAL, STATE, LOCAL AND MUNICIPAL LAWS AND REGULATIONS APPLY. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED.